Olympics Tennis its a nightmare and a cruelty show.
THe crime of a Swiss tennis player female.
A Czech tennis player got the ball right into her eye from as close from the net. Broken bones but not reaction whatsoever no ban no excuse no compensation no annulation of apoint NOTHING.
THIS IS THE nice world we all live in.
Having played a lot of doubles over the years, I’ve taken shots to almost every part of my body. (I think that forehand to the belly button in high school probably hurt most.) And I’ve long said, “All is fair in doubles.”
That statement was put to the test on Saturday at the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. In the women’s doubles semifinal, Switzerland’s Martina Hingis—down match point—planted a forehand volley in the face of opponent the Czech Republic’s Andrea Hlavackova.
The shot broke Hlavackova’s orbital bone, sending her to the hospital for a few hours the night before her impending bronze-medal match alongside stalwart partner Lucie Hradecka. (They would go on to lose that match to fellow Czechs Lucie Safarova and Barbora Strycova.)
“It happens,” said Hlavackova in response to whether Hingis’ shot was a fair and sporting play. She later offered, “She’s one of the greatest who knows where to put the ball. When I saw the video and I saw the space which was around me, I have to admit that she could have put it away.”
Hlavackova added: “She was more worried about not getting a medical timeout for me than about my eye.”
After the incident, Hradecka was dealing with her own issue, not falling asleep until 3 a.m. after separate mixed doubles play that lasted past 1 a.m.
Hingis, an expert doubles player who last competed in the Olympics a full 20 years ago, went to lose the gold-medal match with partner Timea Bacsinszky to Russia’s Elena Vesnina and Ekaterina Makarova in straight sets. Even so, the Swiss misses seized on their opportunity to take their country’s first medals in women’s tennis.
That’s tennis at its best—bruised pride and fractured bones and all.
Follow Jon on Twitter @jonscott9.
The title is not right. How did exactly Hlavackova hit back at Hingis? She did not say anything bad about Hingis. And nowhere I saw Higis apologize to her for breaking her bone or at least show sympathy.
I don’t think Hingis hit her in the face on purpose. Maybe she was going for her feet but still the least she could do was to show some sympathy.
Her partner hit the passing shot too high and the net player got nailed. That’s just part of the game and the mistake is not by Hingis. She was moving forward and didn’t have her feet planted and there was no way for her to evaluate where the other girl was standing. It would have been different if it was a sitter overhead and there were a lot of options.
@jhinshaw They were showing the replay of the MP in their SF match, where the hit happened. Stubbs said you can’t worry about the person on the other side of the net when you’re trying to hit a volley or smash. Especially, MP down. 1-all, Martina probably does try to be safe to avoid hitting Andrea, even if it means missing. But can’t do it at MP down. Can’t worry about the other opponent, and have to focus on winning the point.
Slow down girls!! I like you both, re-think this without the emotion of the injury. First of all I think this ball was going out, so you should be paying attention. Secondly, it’s standard practice to hit at the feet of the net person. I think Hingis missed that shot and it was sailing long. Thirdly when the net person sees the opponent going for the smash it’s fairly standard to turn round and point one’s back so if there is a hit its not on a sensitive area. By not turning one’s back you are taking the risk of getting hit frontally and its not the opponent’s fault. Finally if you are the opponent, it’s not your job to think about avoiding the net person. I have bungled many a smash with that thought in my head and I have trained my self not to do so and I am sure the pros single mindedly want to win the point and they let the opponent take care of themselves. So Hingis was good here, no blame.
However if its true that Hingis was arguing the medical time out, I would be very disappointed in her. However I was watching the match and I did not see Hingis talking to any official during the timeout. She went straight to her chair and sat down.
Trust that Hingis did not aim at Andreas. First, why would she? Second, moving to the net for a put-away volley, it would be incredibly hard to deliberately hit at somebody’s head. Do not suggest you try it, just in case you get “lucky”.
Played a number of tournaments agains a bull of a player who never missed an opportunity to go at the player across the net, even with clear real-estate to hit into. He hit everybody he played against repeatedly. Sadly, in time, most players tried to retaliate. The fourth time he “tagged” me in a 3 set match, he got a warning. And then, he got me going over the net to give him an attitude adjustment. The ref. restrained me and penalized me. Also told the “bull” that the only reason I had not hit him yet, was because I had not wanted to. We had a “chat” on the locker room.
A year later, I was paired up with that ^()(U )))&)( _ _)( in an exhibition pro-am. I saw for myself what it looked liked on the other side. We dropped 6 games in 3 matches. He tagged all the others at least twice each…..
Win of lose, I had my lawyer draft an agreement between us, in the event he ever tagged me again. He had to agree to consequences, whatever those might be. For real… Never hit a ball near me again.
Wow, Hingis is totally wrong and playing very dirty here. She has ample time and open court to hit that shot. And hitting it high on someone’s face is not cool.
It is known that she was disappointed not able to play mixed doubles and this year is likely her last Olympics, but …
some comments below are so right. She has no class or compassion.
And she is a Czech, only naturalized as a Swiss.
@GOS She is Slovakian by birth, but was born in the then Czechoslovakia. You are wrong in calling her Czech just like the rest of your comment.
But her action is opened to interpretation. Her hit her first stroke into the body of Andreas, and also her last stroke. Of course, intention is hard to prove, but there is a pattern there.
Not going over to ask if Anderas is ok, and the twitter msg are just classless.
@GOS Soviet drafting of names for nations does not remove the fact that Slovakians and Czechs are different peoples. I know who the moron is, GOS, a person who keeps arguing petty points even when they are wrong.
I agree with ArturFiser.
Her mother named her Martina after Navratilova who is also a Czech. (Oh, yes, she is American now).
There is a clear connection here regarding Czech. I recall many tennis commentators spoke about Hingis was from Czech originally, but never heard from them that she’s a Slovakian. But then, I am not a Czech or Slovakian, so may be some people are more sensitive about that.
Did she get a fracture for real? It’s a tennis ball not a rock, find it hard to believe she got any injury.
Andrea and Martina are friends off the court which is why Andrea was upset about Martina caring about the lenght of the medical time rather than her friends health. As a friend, i’d immediately go after my friend i’d hit and ask if she’s ok, or apologize. But that’s my point of view and how would I react. What upset me is that Martina did text Andrea that night and Andrea replied that Martina has a hard hit and she has broken bone. Martina replied: ”I’m glad i have a hard hit and i hope you come back soon.” Which is kinda rude to be honest even if she was joking.
Imagine if that had been one of the WS breaking the bone in the face of an Eastern European blonde. The uproar would be deafening.
@DisgustedETC Imagine you not making racist comments.
@DisgustedETC Well, if Venus had done it, I don’t think there would be much noise..but yeah,if Serena had done, there would be an uproar. And some people would swear she had done on purpose.
@DisgustedETC You are so right; Serena probably would have been given a huge fine.
@DisgustedETC Really?? That is what you are thinking of right now?
@DisgustedETC you are right. But I noticed that the WS often hit to the foot of the person at the net, at least these days. Remember 07 AussieOpen Final, Sharapova smashed an overhead at Serena’s body. She wasn’t fined.
Likely an unfortunate incident – like a pitcher losing control of a breaking pitch or change up out of the palm. HOWEVER, that Hingis did not come over the net right after the shot to see if she’s okay and apologize, is inexcusable. That speaks volumes about her in my eyes.
@tennismonkey She did put up her racquet in apology and asked Andrea if she was OK. Just because she didn’t come over doesn’t mean she didn’t care. She cares. She herself has taken hits when up close to the net, though she hasn’t suffered a fractured orbital bone.
@tennismonkey Not sure what the rules are about it but most players don’t cross over to the other side when an opponent is potentially injured or injured. The offer concern and/or apology from their side of the net.
@sparcboy @tennismonkey Rules are meaningless when someone is injured. There are countless incidents where the opponent comes over and at the very least picks up the other’s racquet for them. I completely disagree.
Also, a mistake or net cord winner or body shot to the arm/leg/torso should elicit the racquet up apology. This is something entirely different: one of the most serious injuries a player can have.